Monday, January 7, 2008

Last Session Looms For Some Legislators

Colorado's term limits law will mean that several veteran legislators will be spending their last session at the Capitol this winter and spring. Colorado's 1990 term limits law, which is part of the state constitution (Art. 5, Section 3), gives members of the House of Representatives a maximum of four two-year terms and members of the Senate a maximum of two four-year terms.

Among the senators of both parties who will finish their final terms this session are:

Sen. Ken Gordon (D-Denver)
Sen. Bob Hagedorn (D-Aurora)
Sen. Stephanie Takis (D-Aurora)
Sen. Sue Windels (D-Arvada)
Sen. Ron Tupa (D-Boulder)
Sen. Andy McElhany (R-Colorado Springs)
Sen. Jack Taylor (R-Steamboat Springs)

In addition, Sen. Ted Harvey (R-Highlands Ranch) and Sen. Steve Ward (R-Littleton) are running for Congress in District 6.

Over in the House, these are the members that will be done when the 2008 session adjourns in May:

Rep. Andrew Romanoff (D-Denver)
Rep. Alice Madden (D-Boulder)
Rep. Michael Garcia (D-Aurora)
Rep. Rosemary Marshall (D-Denver)
Rep. Debbie Stafford (D-Aurora)
Rep. Cheri Jahn (D-Golden)
Rep. Alice Borodkin (D-Denver)
Rep. Mary Hodge (D-Brighton)
Rep. Al White (R-Winter Park)

In addition, Rep. Stella Garza-Hicks (R-Colorado Springs), Rep. Rob Witwer (R-Evergreen) and Rep. Ray Rose (R-Montrose) have said they won't seek re-election in the fall. Rep. Dorothy Butcher, D-Pueblo, is also likely serving in her last session at the Capitol, having announced plans to run for a county commission post in the fall instead of for re-election to the House.

White has announced his plans to seek election to the Senate seat held by Taylor, while Borodkin is presumed to be a candidate for the Senate seat now held by Gordon and Garcia is expected to run for the Senate seat now held by Hagedorn.