Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Committee chairs, vice chairs named

The Senate's majority Democrats have chosen their slate of committee chairs and vice-chairs for the session starting in January.

Here's the line-up, along with the majority caucus members who will sit on the committees but who do not have leadership roles in them, courtesy of the Senate Majority Caucus communications operation:

Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Energy:  Sen. Gail Schwartz (D-Snowmass), chairman; Sen. Angela Giron (D-Pueblo), vice-chairman.

Appropriations:  Sen. Mary Hodge (D-Brighton), chairman; Sen. Pat Steadman (D-Denver), vice-chairman.

Business, Labor, and Technology:  Sen. Lois Tochtrop (D-Thornton), chairman; Sen. Cheri Jahn (D-Wheat Ridge), vice-chairman.

Education:  Sen. Evie Hudak (D-Westminster), chairman; Sen. Mike Johnston (D-Denver), vice-chairman.

Finance:  Sen. Mike Johnston (D-Denver), chairman; Sen.-elect Andy Kerr (D-Lakewood), vice-chairman.

Health and Human Services:  Sen. Irene Aguilar (D-Denver), chairman; Sen. Linda Newell (D-Littleton), vice-chairman.

Judiciary: Sen. Lucia Guzman (D-Denver), chairman; Sen.-elect Jessie Ulibarri (D-Commerce City), vice-chairman.

Local Government:  Sen. Jeanne Nicholson (D-Gilpin County), chairman; Sen.-elect John Kefalas (D-Fort Collins), vice-chairman.

State, Veterans, and Military Affairs:  Sen. Angela Giron (D-Pueblo), chairman; Sen.-elect Matt Jones (D-Louisville), vice-chairman.

Transportation:  Sen. Rollie Heath (D-Boulder), chairman; Sen.-elect Nancy Todd (D-Aurora), vice-chairman.

House Democrats, newly ascendant to the majority, got their committee assignments last week. Speaker-designate Mark Ferrandino has set up a new committee to deal with implementation of federal health care reform legislation. Here's the list of committee chairs and vice-chairs, as provided by the next General Assembly's House majority caucus on Nov. 28:

Agriculture: Rep. Randy Fischer (D-Fort Collins), chairman; Rep. Ed Vigil (D-Fort Garland), vice-chairman.

Appropriations: Rep. Claire Levy (D-Boulder), chairman; Rep. Crisanta Duran (D-Denver), vice-chairman.

Business, Labor, & Economic and Workforce Development: Rep. Angela Williams (D-Denver), chairman;  Rep.-elect Tracy Kraft-Tharp (D-Arvada), vice-chairman.

Education: Rep. Millie Hamner (D-Dillon), chairman; Rep. Cherylin Peniston (D-Westminster), vice-chairman.

Finance: Rep. Lois Court (D-Denver), chairman; Rep. Jeanne Labuda (D-Denver), vice-chairman.

Health, Insurance & Environment: Rep. Beth McCann (D-Denver), chairman; Rep. Sue Schafer (D-Wheat Ridge), vice-chairman.

Judiciary: Rep. Daniel Kagan (D-Cherry Hills Village), chairman; Rep. Pete Lee (D-Colorado Springs), vice-chairman.

Local Government: Rep. Rhonda Fields (D-Aurora), chairman; Rep. Jonathan Singer (D-Longmont), vice-chairman.

Public Health Care & Human Services: Rep. Dianne Primavera (D-Broomfield), chairman; Rep. Dave Young (D-Greeley), vice-chairman.

State, Veterans & Military Affairs: Rep. Su Ryden (D-Aurora), chairman; Rep.-elect Joe Salazar (D-Thornton), vice-chairman.

Transportation & Energy: Rep. Max Tyler (D-Lakewood), chairman; Rep.-elect Dominick Moreno (D-Commerce City), vice-chairman.