Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Ritter Says Feds Give State Disaster Money for Farmers

Gov. Bill Ritter announced today that the federal government has approved a secretarial disaster designation for dozens of Colorado counties that sustained agriculture losses due to drought and freezes earlier this year.

“Colorado farmers and ranchers hit hard by difficult weather conditions will now be able to receive federal aid,” Ritter said. “Colorado’s agricultural community is a vital part of this state’s economy, and this can be an important tool during this difficult time.”

Ritter is also expected to seek a disaster designation for six counties for hail, drought and snow: Alamosa, Larimer, Pueblo and Saguache (for hail); Fremont (for drought); and Custer (for excessive snow).

The news came in a letter from U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Edward Schafer.